Unrealistic Expectations = Crushed Hopes And Dreams

Business By Mariadorable Updated 11 Apr 2015 , 7:47pm by kandyslife

Mariadorable Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Mariadorable Posted 10 Apr 2015 , 2:41pm
post #1 of 12

Hello Fellow Bakers,

I am a hobby baker that mostly do cakes for my family and friends. I have never had a complaint from anyone before but last night after spending 14 hours preparing a masquerade cake for a Sweet 16 party for a coworker of my cousins I was told they were disappointed in the finished product cause it looked awkward. Now I am no professional but was really proud of the work I did on this cake and now I am so disheartened I don't even want to bake anymore. I only charged her 125 because I take every job as a learning experience. It would be nice to know I'm not alone in this

11 replies
caz888 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
caz888 Posted 10 Apr 2015 , 3:16pm
post #2 of 12

I dread the day somebody tells me they have a problem with a cake I have made them.

In hindsight its always easy to tell somebody after the fact what to do, 

but give yourself a break,  look at the cake to see what the customer was seeing  and figure out how to improve it the next time around.
Don't give up as you enjoy creating cakes and every cake is a learning curve to improving yourself

So this might not be the right advice but sometimes support is what you need and no you are not alone

chin up

Caz

Mariadorable Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Mariadorable Posted 10 Apr 2015 , 3:23pm
post #3 of 12

Thank you very much, I wish I could figure out how to upload the photo.

leah_s Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
leah_s Posted 10 Apr 2015 , 3:25pm
post #4 of 12

you have to load it into your gallery

-K8memphis Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
-K8memphis Posted 10 Apr 2015 , 4:08pm
post #5 of 12

there's always room for improvement for each of us all the time -- with that said i have a couple questions