Dry White Cakes...how Do I Get A Moist Fluffy White Cake?

Decorating By broy10 Updated 8 Feb 2015 , 10:54pm by -K8memphis

broy10 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
broy10 Posted 8 Feb 2015 , 7:27pm
post #1 of 6

Hello everyone this is my first time asking a question so it is really important.  lol Every time I bake a white cake (from scratch) the taste is really good but I have been told that it is a bit dry.  I have tried different ways to mix the ingredients but nothing seems to work.  This is what I usually do:

Mix in 3/4 of a stick of butter with a cup of sugar for about 5 minutes until creamy.  Next I add in the dry mixture (3 cups of cake flour, 3 teaspoons of baking powder, and 1/2 teaspoon of salt) I add this in a little bit at a time alternating with 1 cup of milk.  I mix for about 2 minutes  until everything is incorporated.  Then I take my egg whites (4 egg white mixed with a hand mixer until soft peak, and add 1/2 cup of sugar gradually) I gently fold it into the mixture.  My chocolate cakes always come out perfect and moist but I have trouble with white cakes.  Also,I do put my cakes in the refrigerator in a box so it will be chill for transport.  What could I be doing wrong?  Any help would be greatly appreciated thanks!

5 replies
sweettooth101 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sweettooth101 Posted 8 Feb 2015 , 8:29pm
post #2 of 6

You might be overbaking, sometimes the cake looks light and we think it needs to remain a little longer to brown. I was doing that with cupcakes but now it is only in 15-20 mins.

If your chocolate cake is coming out fine and IF you are using the exact same recipe are you replacing the cocoa quantity with extra flour?  If you are, try substituting cocoa with corn starch, that is what I do with my chiffon cake recipe. HTH.

Dr_Hfuhruhurr Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Dr_Hfuhruhurr Posted 8 Feb 2015 , 8:34pm
post #3 of 6