Networking For Learning Purposes

Business By bakeforfun21 Updated 16 Feb 2015 , 2:14pm by Phaedramax

bakeforfun21 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bakeforfun21 Posted 2 Feb 2015 , 5:29pm
post #1 of 21

Does anyone have any suggestions on networking not for business purposes but just to learn? I am still fairly new at this decorating thing. I really want to learn as much as possible but I feel I can only learn so much on YouTube. I really want to work with someone in the business but so far my "walk in and ask them to teach me" approach has not been working. Is there anything else I can do?

20 replies
Marie0616 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Marie0616 Posted 2 Feb 2015 , 6:12pm
post #2 of 21

I don't know what your level of experience is, but have you tried Wilton classes? lots of good, basic instruction available there. And my instructor also worked in a bakery, so she had lots of tips as well.

bakeforfun21 Posted 2 Feb 2015 , 6:21pm
post #3 of 21

Quote:

Originally Posted by Marie0616 

I don't know what your level of experience is, but have you tried Wilton classes? lots of good, basic instruction available there. And my instructor also worked in a bakery, so she had lots of tips as well.

I took one course but it was cancelled unannounced after the first class (they never called to tell us it was cancelled). After that, I was skeptical of taking anymore. I bought all the kits and books and started teaching myself. I have the basics down,except smooth icing with buttercream. I want to learn the more advanced techniques (working with royal icing, shaping, string work, etc).

Pastrybaglady Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Pastrybaglady Posted 2 Feb 2015 , 6:42pm
post #4 of 21

A"Walk in and teach me" - this cracked me up :D. People often ask me if they could "help me" or if I would let them watch me, or could I teach their kids... uh, no thank you. Try the classes again, I'm sure they won't ALL be cancelled!