How Do These Physics-Defying Cakes Work???

Decorating By emarcomd Updated 9 Oct 2014 , 10:51pm by costumeczar

emarcomd Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
emarcomd Posted 9 Oct 2014 , 12:57am
post #1 of 4

I was looking around for cakes to inspire a frog cake I'm trying to make, and I stumbled across a few that just seem like they were made on some alternate planet where the forces of gravity can be turned off at will.

For the life of me, I cannot figure out how the front of these things are supported!   I'm guessing there's a dowel at a 45 degree angle somewhere in there, and cardboard... but still... 

WHAT BLACK MAGIC IS THIS?

I totally understand if this is a cake-maker's hard-earned secret and shouldn't be given away.  After all, I'm not a pro and haven't earned my stripes.  But it just boggles my mind, so I'm super curious.

This one, I'm guessing there's a board at 45 degrees somewhere?  But - wait - no, it'd fall, right?  Or maybe there's wires in the arms that support the cardboard that holds the frog's body?  Holy crap that's complicated.  Am I even close?

And this one is just RIDICULOUS.  I don't even know how you'd *cut* that cake, never mind make it.

3 replies
cara1982 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cara1982 Posted 9 Oct 2014 , 7:51pm
post #2 of 4

AI have no idea but I they're awesome!

dkltll Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
dkltll Posted 9 Oct 2014 , 8:30pm
post #3 of 4

I would PM the original artist and ask. :D

costumeczar Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
costumeczar Posted 9 Oct 2014 , 10:51pm
post #4 of 4

AThose are all generally done with a series of pipes and supports that are attached to the base board to create an armature, then they're covered in modeling chocolate or fondant with a little bit of cake involved. Th first one is similar to one I did once. For that, I used a corrugated plastic board that i melted and bent to the angle to hold the head up, and the head was the cake part.