Brush Emboidery

Decorating By jramjam Updated 5 Jul 2014 , 6:05pm by jramjam

jramjam Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jramjam Posted 11 Jun 2014 , 7:53pm
post #1 of 14

What recipe is the best for the royal icing you talented people use for this purpose?

13 replies
Rudd Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Rudd Posted 11 Jun 2014 , 8:19pm
post #2 of 14

I'm just a hobby baker, but when I made my cakes with brush embroidery I just used the same buttercream that I used to cover the cake with. They were covered in fondant, it may make a difference if you are strictly covering in buttercream though, but unfortunately I can't answer for that situation as I have only done the brush embroidery on fondant using buttercream.

jramjam Posted 11 Jun 2014 , 8:23pm
post #3 of 14

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rudd 

I'm just a hobby baker, but when I made my cakes with brush embroidery I just used the same buttercream that I used to cover the cake with. They were covered in fondant, it may make a difference if you are strictly covering in buttercream though, but unfortunately I can't answer for that situation as I have only done the brush embroidery on fondant using buttercream.

Thanks Rudd....Did you add anything to the buttercream?  I've heard about adding a bit of corn syrup to give it a little elasticity and prevent it from tearing.  Did your's tear at all while you were piping?

Siany01 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Siany01 Posted 11 Jun 2014 , 11:10pm
post #4 of 14

AFor RI you would add a small amount of piping gel to the RI to give it the elasticity you need to be able to brush with it without it breaking.

lanawith Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
lanawith Posted 12 Jun 2014 , 4:04am
post #5 of 14

ABehold, this is my super dreamy RI recipe. It is perfect for everything from brush embroidery to covering cookies.

2.25 pounds powdered sugar (sifted) 1/3 cup meringue powder 6 oz water (if adding vanilla include that liquid in here) 2 tbsp light corn syrup