How Should I Distribute My Cakes?

Business By sha1col Updated 22 Jun 2014 , 3:44am by Inga1

sha1col Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sha1col Posted 9 Jun 2014 , 3:20pm
post #1 of 13

AFirst and foremost, I apologize if this was a discussion from a previous thread. I've looked through so many (and there's a ton), but can't find what I'm looking for.

I'm new at cake decorating but I've gotten much better considering where I started from...lol. I want to get my name out there but I'm not sure how. I know all about advertising, but that's not going to cut it. People need to be confident in my product, and know that it taste and look great.

Other than building a portfolio which I'm working on, I've been thinking about baking cakes (I do everything from scratch) and distributing them to local neighborhood restaurants in my area for free (if they'll accept them), but for them to sell with hopes that all goes well and they'll eventually want to purchase on a regular basis. OR, place ads doing cakes for free BUT with limitations. I don't have many request from family or friends because they generally don't have a need for cakes, but they will refer me if the opportunity presents itself.

Any advice is welcome...BTW, I have my food service sanitation manager certification (not sure if that matters) and I'm doing my brothers wedding cake this August.

12 replies
cakebaby2 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakebaby2 Posted 13 Jun 2014 , 3:20pm
post #2 of 13

No no and no again. If you're licensed to sell your cakes from home you could do a wonderful creation for a children's hospital as a donation on a special holiday, I think that would be acceptable but if you give anything away for free you look desperate, not a good look.

The only way to sell anything for what its worth is word of mouth and advertising.

Beautiful work speaks for itself, and business acumen of course.