Anything And Everything About Fondant!!

Decorating By Swayman2202 Updated 24 Feb 2014 , 3:14am by Swayman2202

Swayman2202 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Swayman2202 Posted 24 Feb 2014 , 1:34am
post #1 of 4

I have been doing some crazy amount of research on fondant. I am relatively new to it but I have had fairly good experiences.. I am sure I will have more questions but here are some to start off.

What is everyone's favorite packaged fondant?? Do any of them have their own special perks that make them better or worse for different projects??
I use a MMF that Artisan Cake Company made a video on youtube about!!

How does everyone feel about MMF? It seemed to be super dry and crack easily when I was trying to roll it out on cake and smooth it, is that normal for fondant or operator error. If the latter how do I avoid that?

I HATE the taste of fondant even MMF, is there a way to combat that?

I attached pix of my first fondant cake, tell me what you think, what could I have done better. With a follow up with the client they said the cake was great however the fondant was horrible. But I hate it to, so IDK if its normal for people to say the fondant taste bad or not?? (PS I know the feet look odd, oops lol)

3 replies
CONFECTIONERIE Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CONFECTIONERIE Posted 24 Feb 2014 , 2:04am
post #2 of 4

I use MMF and I LOVE the recipe I use.  It's smooth and just the right amount of stretchy.  And it just tastes like marshmallows.  This is the recipe I use: http://www.aspicyperspective.com/2011/09/how-to-make-marshmallow-fondant.html

I swear by A Spicy Perspective's recipe.  It's so simple and basic and if you like the taste of marshmallows, then you'll like this MMF!

What's the recipe that you're using?

I've been interested in getting into premade fondants but I don't have a car and I really have to jazz myself up for paying shipping on fondant when I know I can make it myself.  

Your cake looks great though!