How Fast Does Gumpaste Dry?

Decorating By jdnewbie Updated 14 Jul 2018 , 6:45pm by daj22602

jdnewbie Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jdnewbie Posted 1 Nov 2013 , 5:05pm
post #1 of 13

Hi! Newbie here. Just want to ask about gumpaste and how fast it dries? It's my first time to make and use gumpaste and I'm worried if it will dry even before I complete the design. I'm thinking of cutting the decoration (1-inch thickness) from gumpaste utilizing tylose. Can't use commercial plungers because it's a sort of unique design, so I'm planning to sketch the pattern then cut it manually. I'm worried that the gumpaste will dry before I completed the design.

Thanks in advance for your help! :D

12 replies
blwilley Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
blwilley Posted 2 Nov 2013 , 1:49am
post #2 of 13

Hi, Newbie here too...

If you are leaving it an inch thick, it will take a very long time to dry.  I can leave a 1" wad, or ball, of gumpaste uncovered for a week or more, then pick it up, mash it, knead it, and with a little Crisco on my fingers, proceed to use it all over again.  It will return to a usable consistency.  But then I make my own gumpaste, usually by adding Tylose to all my leftover marshmallow fondant  If you have the time, try leaving a piece out and see what yours does.  Hope this helps at least a little bit.

costumeczar Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
costumeczar Posted 2 Nov 2013 , 2:30am
post #3 of 13

ATylose added to marshmallow fondant is not gumpaste. If you add tylose to fondant you'll get a paste that dries hard, but it isn't gumpaste and it doesn't act the same way. If you make real gumpaste and leave it out for a week it will be hard as a rock.

If you're rolling out a sheet of gumpaste to cut a large shape out of it, just cover the section you're not working on with a piece of plastic wrap or something like that to keep the air off of it. I make my own gumpaste and it dries hard overnight.

CakeChemistry Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile