Wilton Craftsy Classes

Decorating By emetz74 Updated 5 Oct 2013 , 12:43am by lsully66

emetz74 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
emetz74 Posted 4 Oct 2013 , 9:44am
post #1 of 11

Hi, everyone!

I am new to cake decorating and like to do it for fun. I am really busy and fitting classes in to my schedule is hard. I saw that you can do Wilton classes through Craftsy. Has anyone ever done it or any online decorating class and if so, would you recommend it? Or should I try to go to a face-to-face class instead? Thanks for any input you have!

10 replies
cupcakemaker Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cupcakemaker Posted 4 Oct 2013 , 10:15am
post #2 of 11

AI love craftsy but I don't think you can beat a real class for your first one.

kikiandkyle Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kikiandkyle Posted 4 Oct 2013 , 11:01am
post #3 of 11

AI agree completely. There's something about having the instructor there in person when you're learning the true basics like piping bag pressure.

emetz74 Posted 4 Oct 2013 , 11:27am
post #4 of 11

I have taken a class through my local cake shop. It was a four-week class and she said she does a lot of what Wilton teachers in theirs so I do have some experience. I think I should probably just find the time so I can ask questions. I always have lots of them!

kikiandkyle Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kikiandkyle Posted 4 Oct 2013 , 12:56pm
post #5 of 11

AI'd say try one of the free Craftsy classes and see what you think of it. I think a lot of what Wilton teaches in its classes is outdated, the in store classes are designed around showcasing various products they want you to buy, that you might never use again. But that's just my opinion.

JWinslow Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
JWinslow Posted 4 Oct 2013 , 1:22pm
post #6 of 11