How Could I Improve

Decorating By hanoons Updated 18 Sep 2013 , 2:37pm by hanoons

hanoons Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
hanoons Posted 16 Sep 2013 , 11:56pm
post #1 of 18

A[IMG ALT="Tiffany blue engagement cake my first attempt self taught hope you like Flavor coconut & raspberry with hand made gum paste flowers

17 replies
Daisyblue002 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Daisyblue002 Posted 17 Sep 2013 , 2:06am
post #2 of 18

Hi hanoons, I'm a newbie too and have done a lot of online researching. While you can learn lots of stuff online, actually going to a proper class is absolutely invaluable. Being able to ask the teacher questions and having someone there hands on is better than a Youtube video. Classes can be expensive though, and for us on a single income it's something that I can't do as often as I'd like. So practising techniques on a regular basis, especially the basics, will surely help you to improve. Best of luck :)

reginaherrin Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
reginaherrin Posted 17 Sep 2013 , 3:21am
post #3 of 18

The picture is not at a great angle so I can't see all the details very well.  First, the creases in the front should not be there and you have to manipulate the fondant to wrap around the cake smoothly without those creases. If you do get them then you can gently pull the fondant back out and smooth it down to get rid of them.  The second thing I see is the ribbon boarder at the bottom, it doesn't look completely straight (at least what I can see in the back).  As lastly, the flowers are pretty but they seem odd in placement and I think just overpower the cake a bit.  I think doing the flowers smaller and a smaller amount of them would have been better.  But the cake does look nice and level and is on a nice board and not some wrinkly foil which is good.

JWinslow Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
JWinslow Posted 17 Sep 2013 , 5:05am
post #4 of 18

Hi hannons,