Employed Decorator, Are My Photos Mine?

Business By amartin1900 Updated 22 Nov 2013 , 10:18pm by JPinBklyn

amartin1900 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
amartin1900 Posted 27 Aug 2013 , 11:59am
post #1 of 41

Amy employer is aware I do sell from home. I covered this in the interview. but I'm not sure if the pictures of my work are usable. of course they would be ones that my employer is not using online as well.

40 replies
BatterUpCake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
BatterUpCake Posted 27 Aug 2013 , 12:14pm
post #2 of 41

Did you take the pictures? The work you created while being paid by them is their property and they can use pictures of it and claim it as there own after u leave their employ. However if you took the picture yourself then I would not guess there would be a problem. However I am not a lawyer nor did I sleep at a Holiday Inn Express last night. I would discuss this with them and see if they have issue with it. They cakes you create solely from home are yours and yours only.

Crazy-Gray Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Crazy-Gray Posted 27 Aug 2013 , 12:19pm
post #3 of 41

AIf you took the picture the copyright is yours*; for example: a professional wedding photographer photographs a cake you designed and made- those photos belong to that photographer and you would potentially have to pay them if you wanted to use them on your website.

i.e. if you photograph a cake you made they may be required to pay you to use your photograph - unless you took the photo during working hours and/or at your place of work in which case it could be argued that the taking of the photo was part of your employed job.

So, if a picture you take at work is at all recognisable that it was taken in work and not at home I would suggest not using it on your own website.

Hope that helps :-)

*I am certain there must be complications if you photograph a trademark or something in any way copyrighted

embersmom Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile