Need Help Figuring Out This Cake

Decorating By Skidoochic Updated 13 Aug 2013 , 4:17am by AZCouture

Skidoochic Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Skidoochic Posted 12 Aug 2013 , 2:18am
post #1 of 7

A friend has asked me to make this cake.  I am not very good with fondant and I don't have an airbrush, so I told her I had to do it buttercream and the ribbon would be actual ribbon.  She was OK with that.  So, now I am left with acheiving the color of the flowers and pumpkin.  I have never used petal dust.  Could I get a similar look on the roses with petal dust? Do you think the roses are white and then colored with a burgundy? What color fondant (or mixtures of fondant) are used to achieve that pumpkin color?  

I appreciate any help you can provide. 

6 replies
Smckinney07 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Smckinney07 Posted 12 Aug 2013 , 11:20am
post #2 of 7

AFirst and foremost I would definitely use fondant for the draping (or swags-whatever you want to call it)! It's very, very, very simple and you will not get the look you want if you use actual ribbon for that. You can do the entire cake in BC then add your two fondant swags.

The roses do look airbrushed, can you see the white in them? They were made with white Gumpaste (I imagine) then airbrushed. You can buy a can of colored spray, Wilton has a brand, CMC, etc. the look will be a bit different since you won't have the same amount of control as you would with an airbrush. Honestly, it probably be easier just to color your Gumpaste then make your roses (unless she wants that white color). You can use petal dust also, they are used in various combinations to give flowers depth and detail, finish with steam to seal it in (use an iron or a tea kettle) takes patience. Whatever, your comfortable with.

The pumpkin looked orange to me, use gel colors (Americolor is nice) or powder.

Skidoochic Posted 13 Aug 2013 , 1:56am
post #3 of 7