Help! Wedding Cake Next Week And I Have Never Done Anything Like This Before!

Decorating By KakesbyK Updated 12 Jul 2013 , 9:24pm by sugarmagiccakes

KakesbyK Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
KakesbyK Posted 11 Jul 2013 , 7:52pm
post #1 of 14

I need help with the bottom layer! PLEASE!! :) Thank you in advance!

13 replies
morganchampagne Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
morganchampagne Posted 11 Jul 2013 , 8:18pm
post #2 of 14

AIf you're wondering what it is....it seems like ruffled fondant. There's a technique I saw on YouTube how to do it. Just search for fondant ruffle tutorial or something similar. Maybe one of our seasoned veterans can be more specific with directions. But their usually very busy this time of week

Elcee Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Elcee Posted 11 Jul 2013 , 8:35pm
post #3 of 14

http://cakecentral.com/g/i/2987418/a/3338636/peony/

I did something similar on this cake. I didn't use a tutorial so there may be an easier way to do it. For the round, flower-looking part of the ruffles, I cut out rounds of fondant, let them dry a bit, and then made the ribbon flowers on the rounds and applied them to the cake. I then applied the rest of the ribbons in between the flowers on the cake. One thing that helps is to keep the side of the ribbon that is going on the cake thicker that the other. Does that even make sense? I'm never sure if I'm making myself clear in instructions.

I will say, it's very time consuming so be sure to allow for that. And it uses a lot of fondant. I've only done this on a dummy for my own purposes. I think if a customer wanted it I would at least triple my per serving price for that tier. It was a PITA to do and I cursed myself for even starting it.

Dayti Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Dayti Posted 11 Jul 2013 , 8:38pm
post #4 of 14