Small Town Pricing

Business By MajesticCupcakes Updated 6 Nov 2013 , 5:02pm by uptownbaker

MajesticCupcakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MajesticCupcakes Posted 21 Jun 2013 , 11:12pm
post #1 of 65

Hello!  Last time I asked a question here, GA was in the beginning stages of hoping for a Cottage Food Law.  Well, its happened and I am now a fully licensed home baker in a small town in GA.  I am not from this area, I'm a big bad northerner lol, and I am starting to see a bit of prejudice.  I have recently posted my prices on my FB page and while I have had inquiries, only 3 or 4 orders have actually been placed.  I have always had to fight against the wave of aunts, grandma's, sisters, and so on that bake "the best cakes ever" that everyone seems to flock to here.  Now it seems to be getting a little more personal.  We have pages on FB where locals can search for items, ask where to get certain items, and businesses can promote themselves.  Since I am not the best at self-promoting, those pages are great for me.  More times than not, if someone posts looking for a cake, I will answer enthusiastically that I can do it with a link to my page.  Soon after, there are 5 more stating they can do and do it cheap because "they aren't looking to get rich, just put a smile on someone's face".  Through my own research, I am the only home baker with posted prices on their business pages.  I am beginning to get really discouraged.  I have also started with wedding cakes.  What a nightmare!  People want me to practically give them away.  I have actually had inquiries on the Curious George cake where people thought it would be in the $35 - $50 range icon_eek.gif I am starting a business with a 5 year plan to own a shop so I need to make money.  Not intending to over price or take advantage but succeed.

I tell myself to keep on and not let it bother me but its getting harder.  Those of you in the small towns, any tips for keeping my head up and striving on???

64 replies