6 Vs. 7 Quart - Help!

Decorating By cserwa Updated 11 May 2013 , 2:49am by auntginn

cserwa Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cserwa Posted 10 May 2013 , 1:00pm
post #1 of 18

HI CC world!  I am looking to upgrade mixers from my 5 quart kitchenaid, but I need help!  I have gone back and forth over this all week as I debate the 6 quart 600 professional KitchenAid or their 7 quart proline.  600 is on sale at khols for 450 and after 20% off and 60 dollars KHOLS bucks, it's only going to cost about 340, AND I'd get the free pasta roller attachment.  I'm a hobby baker, but I bake A LOT.

Or I can get the 7 quart from amazon or Williams Sonoma, but unless I'm an idiot, I can't find any coupons that work on their site, and no other retailer that I know of carries the 7...so it would be about 630 (on sale for 550 right now).  I can buy either now.  I could also wait til Black Friday to get the 7 if they usually have sales, but I just don't know.  So my questions:

1.) Do you have any advice regarding how often people actually use the pasta roller for fondant?  Is it worth having?

2.) Does the 7 quart do THAT much more batter to make it worth it to purchase instead?  I just DON'T want to get the 6 now and then a year from now wish I had just splurged on the 7. 

ANY INSIGHT WOULD BE OH SO HELPFUL!

17 replies
DeliciousDesserts Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
DeliciousDesserts Posted 10 May 2013 , 3:20pm
post #2 of 18

AI have a 7 & love it. Huge difference between it & my 5. For me, no brainer get the 7. I already wish I had a 10...well really I want a 20!

I do use my attachment for bands. I don't use it for much else. It's not wide enough for really anything else for me. By the time I add the attachment & roll it thin enough for the machine, I could have rolled out anything small. Great for bands!

cserwa Posted 10 May 2013 , 4:56pm
post #3 of 18