How So I Store Different Fondant Decorations

Decorating By Milliamo Updated 26 Apr 2013 , 1:08pm by meriem

Milliamo Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Milliamo Posted 26 Apr 2013 , 8:11am
post #1 of 4

Hi,

I'm new to this, so forgive me if these are really basic questions!  

I am making a chocolate sandwich cake and some high heel & handbag cupcakes for a friend's hen do (thankfully at the end of June so I have time to plan!).

I am going to cover the cake in fondant and put on a fondant peony rose and 'L' Plate and then I was planning on making handcuffs and chain to go around the cake out of modelling chocolate - is this  a good idea or should I do it out of fondant?

For the handbag cupcakes I am planning to cover them with modelling chocolate - can I make them a couple of days before?  And as its modelling chocolate, should I store them in the fridge?  The high heel cupcakes will have some fondant bows on.

How far in advance can I bake the cake and cupcakes and how best to store them?  

How early can I decorate everything?

I want the fondant flower to be hard, but the 'L' Plate and bows to be soft and edible - how far in advance can I make them, and how best to store them?

All help and advice is very much appreciated!

Milliamo

3 replies
meriem Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
meriem Posted 26 Apr 2013 , 12:18pm
post #2 of 4

hello milliamo,

ill try to answer some of your questions.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Milliamo 

Hi,

I'm new to this, so forgive me if these are really basic questions!  

I am making a chocolate sandwich cake and some high heel & handbag cupcakes for a friend's hen do (thankfully at the end of June so I have time to plan!).

I am going to cover the cake in fondant and put on a fondant peony rose and 'L' Plate and then I was planning on making handcuffs and chain to go around the cake out of modelling chocolate - is this  a good idea or should I do it out of fondant?