Opinions On Renshaw Fondant? Best Place/brand To Purchase Online In Uk?

Decorating By Preezie Updated 14 Mar 2013 , 3:10pm by Preezie

Preezie Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Preezie Posted 12 Mar 2013 , 9:36am
post #1 of 9

Hi there! Going to be making a birthday cake for my niece next month which will be covered in fondant. I am new to the UK so I have no idea where to shop for it or what brand to use...I have only used Wilton (tastes awful) and Satin Ice in the past. I need red and black fondant in particular & I have only seen the white & ivory online. It's a 3 tier cake so I will need a big amount of fondant....prefer not to colour it myself....will be less hassle to buy it! I came across Renshaw fondant while googling it. Any opinions of how this particular brand tastes or what it is like to work with it? If you have other suggestions on what/where to buy, please let me know!

8 replies
LizzieAylett Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
LizzieAylett Posted 12 Mar 2013 , 11:32am
post #2 of 9

Hi,

I have used Renshaw in the past for red and black, and have had mixed results.  I got some of their darker red for a fire engine cake, and only after I'd put it all on the cake did I taste a scrap left over and it was disgustingly bitter, even though it was in date.  I had to spit it out in the sink and rinse out my mouth.  On the other hand, I've used their black and it tastes fine, although not as nice as homemade marshmallow fondant.  But it is worth it for the very strong colours.

I tend to buy mine from Ebay. There are many different companies offering it there pretty cheaply, so I just tend to pick whichever one I think has the nicest selling page.  I've never had any trouble and the fondant arrives quickly.

Spireite Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Spireite Posted 12 Mar 2013 , 12:41pm
post #3 of 9