Dissatisfied Client?

Decorating By FromScratch04 Updated 11 Mar 2013 , 3:36pm by FromScratch04

FromScratch04 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
FromScratch04 Posted 10 Mar 2013 , 8:58pm
post #1 of 18

Hi everyone I need advice..

i have been doing this for about three years now, i recently started promoting my business a lot more and I have been packed with orders. People love my cake and designs I can't say I've had a customer who has complained before...till Saturday.

she had shown me a sheet cake with a FAKE doll on top pipped with buttercream for the pjs, while talking I told her why not make a 3D baby? We eliminated the sheet cake and just stuck to making the newborn then from a purple pipped buttercream outfit she changed it to something camo. I made a 3D baby cake that everyone loved my clients when picking their cakes saw it in the box and I got mad compliments on it. 

When she came to pick it up she said well I'm not happy with it. I looks too real the eyelid looks creepy bc it looks shut i said that's what an eyelid in a baby looks like...she said its just not what I had in mind I said I'm sorry.. (Mind you I was so excited for this cake) I was crushed..I love seeing clients expressions and they are always good specially the kids. 

Anyhow I had taken a last minute order for another baby shower and from the same cake batch as the 3D baby It was enough for the other cake as well. Today the lady from the 3D cake said the cake tasted not better than it looked and how would I make it up to her...yet the other lady text me thanking me for the delicious cake I had made that everything turned out wonderful and the cake was amazing ...SAME batch, 

and to top it off one of her guests who tried the cake at her shower just placed an order for her kids bday..... so I'm confused?