Feeling Frustrated

Business By Petals_and_Pearls_cakes Updated 2 Mar 2013 , 2:18am by Embles

Petals_and_Pearls_cakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Petals_and_Pearls_cakes Posted 28 Feb 2013 , 10:08pm
post #1 of 15

AHi guys This is my first time posting on here. So I run a small cake business I'm only new to cake decorating starting about 6 months ago, I know I have room for inprovement and am always learning but I think I do ok for someone who has done no training and is totally self taught.

I am a mother of 2 and my cake business is my only source of income. I'm in australia where ingredients etc cost much more than in the states but the minimum wage is much higher (around $17 an hour minimum wage). For these reason cake prices are obviously higher here. Most cake artists (running a business not just hobbyists) for example charge minimum $800 for a 4 tier decorated wedding cake with the average price around the $1200 mark and ranging anywhere upto and over the $2000 mark (not comparing my quality of work to people on the higher end of the scale, obviously they are amazing and have been at this much longer than I have and have been professionally trained, but I feel I reflect this in my prices.)

Lately I've been feeling very defeated by constantly being told my prices are too high and having many many many enquiries but after quoting for work not hearing back from people again. Its basically like "oh really, thy much? But it's just a cake?" I work extremely hard for quite a small profit margin, it is especially stressful seeing as I have a 8 month old at home who requires constant attention at the same time as trying to for example get a 5 tier intricately detailed wedding cake done!