I Know This Is A Horrible Question...

Baking By MissCathcart Updated 24 Jan 2013 , 2:00am by AnnieCahill

MissCathcart Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MissCathcart Posted 21 Jan 2013 , 2:46am
post #1 of 22

Do those adorable Royal Icing cookies taste even good? I've wondered for years what I'm doing wrong. When I try to duplicate a cute cookie idea my cookies always turn out way too sweet. That doesn't even include how hard they are to eat. What's the solution?

21 replies
vgcea Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
vgcea Posted 21 Jan 2013 , 3:09am
post #2 of 22

Not a horrible question; it's quite valid actually. I'm no cookie pro and I'm not sure how this might affect the cookie's characteristics but have you considered decreasing the sugar content of your cookies? That way the final product doesn't taste so sweet. I'm sure the pros will chime in and let you know how altering your sugar might mess with the cookies.

BakingIrene Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
BakingIrene Posted 21 Jan 2013 , 3:16am
post #3 of 22

For decorating cookies, I have used the "buttercream for flowers" that Richard Snyder wrote into all of his books.  I now use corn syrup instead of egg white, and I vary the flavour with the LorAnn oils.

That stuff air dries, and it doesn't dry out good rolled sugar cookies at all.  It looks excellent and is tasty.

But I put those cookies into flat boxes NOT individual bags. 

texascakebaker Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
texascakebaker Posted 21 Jan 2013 , 3:55am
post #4 of 22

Wondered the same thing myself! Completely covering in royal icing makes it too hard, and I don't really want fondant on there either. I have stuck to a glaze and then use royal for accents only.

I'd be interested to hear more on this topic from the more experienced cookie makers out there. icon_biggrin.gif

MissCathcart Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MissCathcart Posted 21 Jan 2013 , 4:07am
post #5 of 22