How To Start

Business By LeslieStew Updated 11 Jan 2013 , 7:36pm by BakingIrene

LeslieStew Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
LeslieStew Posted 10 Jan 2013 , 6:41pm
post #1 of 13

I am a recent culinary school graduate in Georgia.  I made a few cakes in school and recently I made a cake at cost for a friends daughters 3rd birthday (in my pictures).  It was my third cake.  I loved it, the whole process (they loved the cake too).  I had been kicking around the idea of a little home based cake business but feel I need practice.  I was thinking of offering friends and family cakes for events at cost (plus a little extra to put towards buying tools and such) while I practice and get better.  I am buying the Ultimate Cake set from Wilton this weekend with the money I got from Christmas.  I plan to enroll in the Wilton courses (I have a friend who has started them and she is amazing) as soon as I have the extra money.  I figure in a year I could start charging full price for my cakes.

I guess I am just looking for any advice (I live in Georgia, and we now have Cottage Laws which will make the legal end much easier).  I have read tons on these boards already, but can always learn more ^_^

Thanks so much in advance!!

12 replies
-K8memphis Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
-K8memphis Posted 10 Jan 2013 , 7:31pm
post #2 of 13

yay

cool

a caker is born

i like your plan

consider an idea

going forward provide an invoice with each cake showing the real price of each cake and the generous  'portfolio discount' you are giving to each client

that accomplishes two things

• makes you study that much harder now to get all this straight so it will be easier later
  • gives your early customer base a heads up that this won't last forever

be careful to collect and pay your applicable sales & use taxes

best of the best to you!!!

BakingIrene Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
BakingIrene Posted 10 Jan 2013 , 7:46pm
post #3 of 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by LeslieStew