Please Help!!

Decorating By mama moot Updated 13 Jan 2013 , 3:27pm by mama moot

mama moot Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mama moot Posted 10 Jan 2013 , 1:05pm
post #1 of 11

I am new to cake central and am really hoping that someone (or a few) can offer me some suggestions on coloring MMF black, grey and metallic silver gold or pearl?  I really want to stick with the white marshmellows.  Someone has suggested to use the chocolate marshmellows so that the color is not so hard to change when going to black.  I  have tried on several different occasions and it never turns black enough.  I also have had the same trouble with making grey.  It turns into a really awkward color of purple.  I tried to use the spray black on the MMF and either it was too humid in the house or it just wont take the spray because the color ran no matter how light or heavy i tried.  The only way I have ever gotten a gold color was on Buttercream and using the spray.  Please help because I have a cake to make this weekend with both of these colors.

10 replies
Kpowell Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Kpowell Posted 10 Jan 2013 , 2:04pm
post #2 of 11

I am not one to give good advice for black, because I hate making black fondant.  It doesn't ever seem to come out right for me.  Either it comes out a weird consistancy (and sticky) or it seems to stay that purple color. I also think it tastes different.  My theory...keep adding black, eventually you will get the black color you are looking for.  Once I have a good balck color, I add just a bit more powdered sugar to my fondant so it is not quite so sticky to roll out.  Seems to me that I use twice as much black color to make something a true black than I do any other color.