State Fair Idea Please :-)

Decorating By lilyankee5688 Updated 12 Oct 2012 , 5:20am by icer101

lilyankee5688 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
lilyankee5688 Posted 29 Sep 2012 , 2:11am
post #1 of 6

Ok so I entered in the state fair cake decorating contest. The cake I wanted to do reminds me of a wedding cake, not specialty cake. I am having a hard time coming up with a good specialty cake.... any ideas??? Should I do a kids theme bday cake...or a holiday theme.... I just dont know what the judges look for, as its my first time entering a cake...

5 replies
icer101 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
icer101 Posted 29 Sep 2012 , 2:38am
post #2 of 6

Hi, i have won blue ribbons and best of show on wedding cakes, and on a cake resemebling a garden , with man on tractor and lady gathering potatoes, etc. They are in my pics. The wedding cakes were tropical both times. They could tell i spent hours working on these cakes. That is what you have to do. Think big, like no one else would do this type of cake, etc. that is how i think each time. A woman in her kitchen , making cakes, being tired etc. I had one of the crew on ace of cakes and won blue ribbon and best of show. Not bragging, Just giving you some clues. I look each year at end of fair and see how cakes are judged. good luck.

Elcee Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Elcee Posted 29 Sep 2012 , 3:00am
post #3 of 6

Is there a theme? Even if the cake contest doesn't have a theme, it's fun to incorporate the fair theme into your cake. Are you able to look at past winners? That will tell you a bit about what the judges like and don't like.

lilyankee5688 Posted 30 Sep 2012 , 3:28am
post #4 of 6

Icer your cakes are beautiful!! There is no theme, just " tiered specialty cake". I think I am going to do a Breast Cancer theme cake, since it is in October, and that's the month for the awareness. I am so nervous at this, always so nervous at something new.. ha ha I'll post pics! icon_smile.gif