Questions For Home Bakers

Business By sarahsweetcakes Updated 2 Aug 2012 , 10:55pm by scp1127

sarahsweetcakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sarahsweetcakes Posted 31 Jul 2012 , 9:13pm
post #1 of 17

Those of you that live in a cottage food law state, do you mention on you website that you are a home based bakery, and how do you word things? Just trying to get some ideas for the best way to do things.

Also, should I register my business name with my state? Are there other things I need to operate legally?

I just want to say everyone here is always so helpful. Ya'll are awesome!

Thanks!

16 replies
lovinspoonfull Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
lovinspoonfull Posted 31 Jul 2012 , 9:29pm
post #2 of 17

I am just starting out with baking at home, and I don't think I will include that on my website. There's no shame in it, I just don't think it is necessary. I know that most of the wedding cake businesses in my area are based in home kitchens and their websites make no mention of it. I registered my business name. I am not sure how much legal claim that gives me, but it couldn't hurt.
You probably need to get your kitchen inspected before you can legally operate from home.

shanter Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
shanter Posted 31 Jul 2012 , 9:33pm
post #3 of 17

You would have to check with some kind of authority where you are in Germany - like a health department or whatever oversees food selling there. They will know what you have to have, what you can have, and what you cannot have for your home business.

kelleym Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kelleym Posted 1 Aug 2012 , 12:12am
post #4 of 17

Yes, I have it right in the header of every page on my site that my business is a legal cottage food operation. I do this for two reasons: 1. I want my customers to know that I operate from home legally, and 2. I literally gave blood, sweat, and tears to be able to say that, and I'm going to sing it from the rooftops.