Butter Cream Frosting Vs High Ratio Shortening Frosting

Baking By Pattycake12 Updated 2 Aug 2012 , 5:35am by vgcea

Pattycake12 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Pattycake12 Posted 1 Jul 2012 , 11:02am
post #1 of 15

Can any one speak to the flavor differences between an American Buttercream frosting and a frosting made with butter and high ratio shortening. I love the flavor of a buttercream frosting but the consistency can be tricky - especially with temperature changes. I am finding I need a stiffer buttercream and cream cheese frosting. I will do some testing using the high ratio but wondered if folks feel one is better than the other and why? Thanks for you input?

14 replies
Apti Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Apti Posted 1 Jul 2012 , 4:21pm
post #2 of 15

You'll get a LOT of different opinions on this one. I'm a hobby baker and give away my cakes so nobody is picky about which frosting I use; they love all of the buttercream versions.

Here's a link to a thread on Wilton.com with 2 superb crusting buttercream recipes which I use all the time. One of them is the Indydebi Crisco based buttercream. Indydebi posted her recipe in 2008 when Crisco still had trans-fats. When Crisco changed to zero trans-fats, I quit using it and only use high-ratio for my recipes.

http://www.wilton.com/forums/messageview.cfm?catid=7&threadid=146466
-----------------
Re: the taste~~Buttercream with real butter in it tastes better. I don't think anyone will disagree on that point. However, the majority of regular (non-cake-obsessed) people, probably can't tell the difference. You may want to make 3 batches, high-ratio only, high-ratio and butter 50/50, zero-trans-fat Crisco only and have friends/family do a taste test comparison.

Also, frosting made with high-ratio shortening will taste better, smoother, etc. than frosting made with zero-trans-fat Crisco. The high-ratio formulation allows the liquid and shortening to "blend" much better than zero-trans-fat Crisco.