Beginner Baker Has A Few Questions...

Decorating By DiddleMeSweet Updated 4 Jun 2012 , 6:05pm by DiddleMeSweet

DiddleMeSweet Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
DiddleMeSweet Posted 4 Jun 2012 , 7:51am
post #1 of 4

I am a beginner baker and I'm seriously interested in the Oriental, Austrailian, Nirvana, and Lambeth Methods. So I googled online I can't afford the Lambeth Method book by Joseph Lambeth. I did get a good deal on the book called "The Art of Royal Icing" by Eddie Spence MBE. Would you recommend this book?

I am curious has anyone taken all of the Wilton classes? Or their Master Classes? I am also considering taking a class or two with David MacCarfrae (I think I spelled his name correctly), has anyone taking any classes w/ him? If so, would you recommend his classes?

Eagerly awaiting responses...thank you for reading.

icon_smile.gif

3 replies
scp1127 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
scp1127 Posted 4 Jun 2012 , 8:24am
post #2 of 4

I do not consider myself a decorator even though I can handle the basics.

I took all of the Wilton courses. Learning basic method opens you up to finding new ways and making your own style. I was amazed how easy the basics actually were. And everyone got it. So all levels of talent can still be successful.

After that, I watched youtube and bought some videos. I have sugarshack's, Jennifer Dontz's, and Edna's.

So I say yes to the Wilton classes, but just don't stop there.

BakingIrene Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
BakingIrene Posted 4 Jun 2012 , 1:56pm
post #3 of 4

The Eddie Spence book is excellent and amazon gives a great deal.

Keep your eyes peeled for the Lambeth book. Every edition with 360 pages is exactly the same. I had to replace the 1980 reprinted version after somebody borrowed it from me and then donated it to somebody else...being careful with auctions got me one at a good price.