Wilton Cake Decorating Classes

Baking By cake n bake Updated 18 May 2012 , 10:50pm by unctoothlady

cake n bake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cake n bake Posted 16 May 2012 , 9:58pm
post #1 of 14

Has anybody taking it? How was it? I heard good and bad things. Just want to know so people experience. I self taught myself but was think of take a class at Michaels

13 replies
kakeladi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kakeladi Posted 16 May 2012 , 10:12pm
post #2 of 14

I taught the classes some 10 yrs ago for about 10 yrs.
They can be great OR bad depending on the instructor.
Just remember, the instructor's job is to *sell Wilton products*.
I think they can be a really great basis/starting point. You could easily be doing things wrong and learning how to do it right could improve your work and cut your decorating time way down. But don't go into the class w/the idea of "Oh, I already know how to do that icon_sad.gif " And proceed to tell the instructor how it's done icon_smile.gif
Take the time to learn it. You could take the same class from 4 different instructors and come away w/helpful hints/tips from 3 of them that the others never mention.

Chrisl121070 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Chrisl121070 Posted 16 May 2012 , 11:07pm
post #3 of 14

I loved the classes. I lucked out and got a great teacher who wasn't there just to push Wilton products. She even taught us things not on the "Wilton syllabus".

srkmilklady Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
srkmilklady Posted 16 May 2012 , 11:22pm
post #4 of 14

If you have never taken a class, then taking classes at Michael's would be a good place to start. They are inexpensive enough and even if you only learned a few new techniques, they are well worth the money.