Suggestions For A Cake Making A Trip

Decorating By Mae_mom Updated 27 Apr 2012 , 6:42pm by Wildgirl

Mae_mom Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Mae_mom Posted 23 Apr 2012 , 2:12pm
post #1 of 5

I'm going to be making a friend a wedding cake next month. As of right now the design is going to be a pale sky blue with white daisies cascading down from the top.

The cake is going to be making an eight hour minimum car ride, however and then will sit over night to be assembled the following day. I have to make everything before we leave for the trip as I will not be in a location where I can do it once we are there. So, it brings up some questions:

1. I've never done this many 3D flowers before (non-piped)... how do I attach them to the cake so that they stay secured?

2. What is the best material to make them out of since they will be done at least two days prior to assembly? Fondant? Gumpaste? Modeling chocolate?

3. What would be the best way to package them to get them through the trip so that they don't distort, stick to each other, melt, or fall apart?

4. What technique would you suggest for doing a large number of flowers efficiently? I'm doing simple white daisies (instead of the yellow centers they are going to be colorful music notes) and I want them to be 3D/pop up, etc.

Thank you for any help!!!

4 replies
kakeladi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kakeladi Posted 23 Apr 2012 , 6:48pm
post #2 of 5

1.... how do I attach them to the cake so that they stay secured?
Are they going to be wired? I almost never made any wired flowers so it can be done icon_smile.gif Use some melted choco to attach them OR pipe an open circle of b'cream on the back of each flower before adding to the cake.

2. What is the best material to make them out of since they will be done at least two days prior to assembly? Fondant? Gumpaste? Modeling chocolate?