Cupcake Tops

Baking By NoviceBaker911 Updated 26 Oct 2011 , 12:28am by Bridgette1129

NoviceBaker911 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
NoviceBaker911 Posted 23 Oct 2011 , 7:01am
post #1 of 13

I am a newbie baker. I have never been much of a baker because I never ate sweets and as I reached my mid twenties I suddenly have become a lover of sweets. So now I am tinkering around in the kitchen with baking.

So here is my question: Why is it that some cupcakes are flat topped after baking and some are dome shaped like muffins? What causes them to rise differently?

I personally like cupcakes to have a bit of a rounded top and I really like when mini cupcakes have a really round top because they look nicer when frosted in my opinion. Anyways! Any help would be greatly appreciated!

12 replies
imagenthatnj Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
imagenthatnj Posted 23 Oct 2011 , 3:47pm
post #2 of 13

It's a difference in temperature when you're baking them. For a rounded top, you start with a higher temperature and then lower it a few minutes later.

http://www.cakejournal.com/archives/cupcake-decorating-part-2

http://cakecentral.com/cake-decorating-ftopict-603740-.html&sid=5cff90e5377d6a6988f877731a34778b

http://cakecentral.com/cake-decorating-ftopicp-6872379-.html

lillithmaximus Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
lillithmaximus Posted 23 Oct 2011 , 10:18pm
post #3 of 13

It also helps to use extremely soft butter (or even melted) when baking. I've noticed that every time I make texas sheet cake cupcakes (which does not involve creaming, but melting the butter with cocoa powder) I always get lovely round tops on my cupcakes.

NoviceBaker911 Posted 24 Oct 2011 , 5:02am
post #4 of 13