Do You Have A Back Up Plan?

Decorating By cakelady2266 Updated 14 Oct 2011 , 12:20pm by Chellescakes

cakelady2266 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakelady2266 Posted 14 Oct 2011 , 4:04am
post #1 of 6

The MOB ask me that the other day. What if something happens, you get hurt, sick or someone dies. I assured her I have always delivered on what was ordered. I've worked plenty of times sick, injured. So it got me to thinking what would I do if something really horrific happened. Who would I turn to for back up?

Do any of you have a "back up baker" to call on in the event of a tragedy? How do you make that happen?

5 replies
Skidoochic Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Skidoochic Posted 14 Oct 2011 , 4:27am
post #2 of 6

I sort of do -but I am a hobby baker. My friend also does cakes and we back each other up. She has only asked me once. I had to ask her to help me with a wedding cake. A week before the cake was due, I broke my elbow. I couldn't even move a cake pan let alone take a cake out of the oven! Then I had therapy and it took YEARS to get the stregnth and function back in my elbow.

So- I say it is pretty important to build a relationship with someone you trust, to back you up just in
case. icon_smile.gif

sillywabbitz Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sillywabbitz Posted 14 Oct 2011 , 4:35am
post #3 of 6

I just started a home based business but I am a member of a cake club and every so often we get an email to the club with an SOS from a sick member who needs someone to cover an order. I think cake clubs are a great way to meet other bakers who will have your back if you get desparate. It's important that you find people who have a similar skill set and similar pricing so everyone feels it was fair.

BlakesCakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
BlakesCakes Posted 14 Oct 2011 , 6:07am
post #4 of 6

I have some cake club fans that might be able to help, but it would be pure luck to have them be free enough to do much.