Please Help!

Decorating By Tfaye Updated 29 Sep 2011 , 4:14pm by Tfaye

Tfaye Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Tfaye Posted 29 Sep 2011 , 2:29pm
post #1 of 6

I had seen a sketch pattern of flames made with RI for a Harley Davidson cake on the forum, (I think erin 31), which is what I'm doing. The flames were yellow and the person outlined the flames with a reddish orange color.

Well I thought I would be clever cause I've never done a pattern in RI before so I used yellow fondant and outline it in reddish orange RI. Obviously that doesn't work because today the RI is cracking and falling off the fondant.

I am so new to cake decorating and this is only my second cake (for money), and I could get so many customers just from this one cake if it turns out looking good. Please tell me what should I do?

I was thinking that I could take some red and orange food color paste, or jell and water it down a bit and take a paint brush and brush it onto the fondant. Would that work or would it just ruin it more?

Please somebody help me icon_sad.gif I have to have this cake done by Sunday plus I have to work 7 hours Friday and 7 Saturday. I will be up all night. It took me 4 hours just to cut out those flames. Er Is there another border that might look good if the fondant flames can't be saved?

Sometimes it seems that cake decorating isn't worth it when I get paid. The only other cake I did for money looked like crap, but the free ones (for family and friends) turn out great. Why?

Tammy

5 replies
tmgarcia_98 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tmgarcia_98 Posted 29 Sep 2011 , 2:41pm
post #2 of 6

Painting will definitely work.....but don't use water. That will make your fondant start to get gummy. Instead, thin the food color gel with vodka or another clear liquor. I have also heard you can use clear vanilla extract, but I have not tried it.