How To Become A Cake Decorator

Decorating By topicyang Updated 1 Aug 2011 , 5:41am by MrsBowtiy

topicyang Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
topicyang Posted 1 Aug 2011 , 2:52am
post #1 of 7

Hello All,

I recently have started an interest with cake making. I have been making cakes for friends and family and have received many compliments on my cakes. I am not very experienced I have pretty much taught myself. I really enjoy doing this it is a big stress reliever for me and now I am wondering how someone with no background in culinary can get a job as a cake decorator. Please let me know if anybody has any insight on this.

6 replies
Coral3 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Coral3 Posted 1 Aug 2011 , 3:13am
post #2 of 7

Okay so you say "I really enjoy doing this it is a big stress reliever for me" ...if you start doing it professionally it will quite likely become stressfull, and you will lose what you loved about it in the first place. Loving it as a hobby doesn't automatically mean it'd be a good job for you. Since you say you're only just getting interested in it I would suggest you just stick with it as a hobby for now, get more experienced, accumulate a 'portfolio' of your cakes - then decide where you want to take it.

weidertm24 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
weidertm24 Posted 1 Aug 2011 , 3:17am
post #3 of 7

This is something I want to know too. I have done a few cakes for friends/family and trust me I get so stressed and I know that's how it will be (my mini kitchen doesn't help either or not having central air! =/) anyways. I know this is something I want to to do for a living and I'm just not sure how to go about it. I've made several cakes but I just really started doing this in April.

Great question! Glad you asked I was thinking of asking myself. [=

Unlimited Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Unlimited Posted 1 Aug 2011 , 3:36am
post #4 of 7