Scroll Tap Its

Decorating By cutecookiex Updated 30 Jul 2011 , 9:23am by jennifercullen

cutecookiex Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cutecookiex Posted 29 Jul 2011 , 9:57am
post #1 of 9

Hi,

I have recently bought tappits in scroll style. I bought them by accident but obviously thought I could make use of them somehow!!! - I just can't seem to get them out no matter how hard I tap - I am only a beginner in this and I am learning through tutorials on you tube so if anyone has any advice I would really appreciate it. - (using fondant)
Thanx

8 replies
leah_s Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
leah_s Posted 29 Jul 2011 , 11:06am
post #2 of 9

Put the fondant thru your pasta roller to about 7 or 8.
Lay on counter and left dry for 10minutes or so. Cut. Tap.

Ellie1985 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Ellie1985 Posted 29 Jul 2011 , 11:35am
post #3 of 9

Also dust the fondant with powder sugar and dust the tappit with powder sugar.

kaat Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kaat Posted 29 Jul 2011 , 1:07pm
post #4 of 9

I agree with Leah. My pasta roller size is different but letting it sit after rolling it out is the key. Don't leave it too long though or the fondant starts to crack and break apart.

Chasey Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Chasey Posted 29 Jul 2011 , 4:07pm
post #5 of 9

I don't have a pasta roller and I don't use my rings on my fondant roller. I eyeball it so that it's a little thicker/about the same as the depth of the tappits.

I let the piece of fondant air dry for just a few minutes, cut a smaller square out of it, dust my tappit letter I'm going for, place that over the cut square and then wiggle it and press down on the counter. Usually it will pop out without having to bang the tappit on the counter. icon_smile.gif

Deenamgall Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Deenamgall Posted 29 Jul 2011 , 4:24pm
post #6 of 9