Black Fondant

Decorating By SavedbyGraceCakes Updated 25 Jul 2011 , 1:28pm by maitej17

SavedbyGraceCakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SavedbyGraceCakes Posted 24 Jul 2011 , 8:36pm
post #1 of 10

This is my first time on here and I'm so glad i found this site. I have a question. When making black fondant which is the best way to do it. My daughter and myself made a 3 tier birthday cake for a friend and she wanted the bottom layer black with pink dots and the 2nd layer was white with zebra strips and top was pink. The zebra strips ran onto the white after we steamed the fondant. icon_cry.gif

9 replies
brandy7909 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
brandy7909 Posted 24 Jul 2011 , 8:45pm
post #2 of 10

that sucks! all that hard work! did you tint it yourself? i usually buy black and red already colored since tiniting yourself can be a lot of work and trouble icon_sad.gif

Lon6523 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Lon6523 Posted 24 Jul 2011 , 9:00pm
post #3 of 10

Black is the hardest to make yourself I find and red as well. So if anything those are the two colors I buy already colored.

ChilliPepper Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ChilliPepper Posted 24 Jul 2011 , 9:20pm
post #4 of 10

I colour my own gum paste for modelling but if anyone asked me for a cake covered with black or red fondant I would definitely buy it and hang the cost!!!

CP x

grandmomof1 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
grandmomof1 Posted 24 Jul 2011 , 10:07pm
post #5 of 10

I color my own fondant, black and red included, and do not have any problem with it bleeding. However, if you put it on with water and apply too much water it will bleed. Use vanilla extract to apply the fondant to the cake. When tinting those colors, I use Americolor gels and Cake Craft candy powder and make sure the fondant sets overnight. Good luck in the future.

auntbeesbaking Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
auntbeesbaking Posted 24 Jul 2011 , 10:14pm
post #6 of 10