Dummy Cakes For Weddings?

Decorating By klutzy_baker Updated 11 Jul 2011 , 2:00pm by klutzy_baker

klutzy_baker Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
klutzy_baker Posted 11 Jul 2011 , 11:49am
post #1 of 7

A lot of people I know are getting married and a friend of mine (who is in catering) said that some people are getting dummy cakes decorated with only one real tier (for the cake cutting). Then the actual cakes are sheet cakes.

He says that no one actually sees the sheet cakes being cut, so they don't know the difference. I can understand that....

But honestly, how much time and effort is the baker going to save by doing this? You are still decorating the dummy cake and that seems to me like the hard part. I'm not experienced so I don't know.

Also, if a person wants fillings...etc...how is the baker saving time since you will still need to stack? I guess you wouldn't need to worry about tiers though.

It seems like the bride and groom wouldn't be saving that much money (or any?) in the long run. Perhaps I'm over thinking this. icon_redface.gif

Thanks for your thoughts icon_smile.gif

6 replies
leah_s Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
leah_s Posted 11 Jul 2011 , 12:18pm
post #2 of 7

Nope, you're not overthinking it. If priced correctly, the dummy cake + sheet cakes should cost more than a tiered cake. Basically you're buying "cake" and cake twice.

jhndavid Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jhndavid Posted 11 Jul 2011 , 12:37pm
post #3 of 7

u r rite

sherry_lyn Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sherry_lyn Posted 11 Jul 2011 , 12:54pm
post #4 of 7

The only way this is "cheaper" is if the cake was rented out many times. Of course having a non-caker responsible to bring back a dummy without damaging the decorations would be next to impossible, so there would be more time put in to it to fix whatever gets broken.