What Gauge Wire To Use?

Decorating By lupitt Updated 11 Jul 2011 , 1:22am by JenniferMI

lupitt Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
lupitt Posted 9 Jul 2011 , 2:35pm
post #1 of 11

Hello,

I'm new here and an absolute novice when it comes to cakes. I just tend make them for family occasions.

I'm doing a ruby anniversary cake for my parents and want to make stars on wires (see what I mean about novice? I'm sure they have a posh term!). What gauge wire should I be getting? I was thinking 26 but have read of others using 18 or 20. Also do I need to glue the end of the wire prior to sticking in the star? Can I use egg white as a glue or not?

Thankfully I've just read the 'wires in cakes thread', and have made a mental note to order coffee straws; so I shouldn't be poisoning any of the family!

Thanks in advance and sorry for the many questions!!

10 replies
tonedna Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tonedna Posted 9 Jul 2011 , 2:39pm
post #2 of 11

I use whatever holds what I am hanging from the tier. But mostly #18 is pretty good.
Edna icon_smile.gif

Sorelle Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Sorelle Posted 9 Jul 2011 , 3:21pm
post #3 of 11

If you want the stars to wobble back and forth use a thinner gauge, this is really fun and whimsical. If not, a heavier gauge.
I dip the ends in gum paste glue (a glue made from a little ball of gum paste dissolved in water.) You could use egg whites especially if they will not be eaten.
BtW since you are a newbie. Edna, the above poster, is the queen of caking and super generous with her knowledge. Check out her web site and all her tutorials on youtube. Welcome to the cake world and cakecentral icon_smile.gif
You are also welcomed to check out my page on facebook, "Freedom Cakes!"
Happy Caking!

tonedna Posted 9 Jul 2011 , 3:27pm
post #4 of 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sorelle

If you want the stars to wobble back and forth use a thinner gauge, this is really fun and whimsical. If not, a heavier gauge.