How Do I Make Eyes

Decorating By iris219 Updated 22 Jul 2011 , 1:14pm by iris219

iris219 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
iris219 Posted 5 Jul 2011 , 10:31pm
post #1 of 13

Hello, I need some help & suggestions. My daughters birthday is in September 2011 and wants me to make a peacock cake. I've never done one before but am planning on giving it a try this weekend.

I understand from reading posts on here that I can make the peacock from RKT (is it best with or without butter) then cover in molding chocolate and then covered in fondant. Do you use wires to shape the body of the peacock? I also understand that I should make all my feathers for the peacock way, way ahead of time. So since it's 2 months away, I think I got that part covered. Has anyone made the RKT using peanut butter? My daughter does not like the regular RKT and wants me to make it with peanut butter but don't know how this will hold?

My problem is, how do you make the eyes for the peacock? Do you use fondant? If so, what tools do you use? Or would you paint them on with edible markers? If so, how to make them?

I've done a search for "peacock eyes" and all I find are human eyes with different eyes shodows to look like peacocks.

Just want to have all my tools before I start on this project. Any help on this is greatly appreciated. Thanks

12 replies
soapy_hopie Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
soapy_hopie Posted 5 Jul 2011 , 10:38pm
post #2 of 13

depends on how big it is, but i would use brown m&ms and turn them over and put a little bit of butter cream on them to make the light spot in the eyes........or if you need something bigger you could use compound chocolate disks, jr. mints etc.....thats just what i would do but that is just my opinion as i have never made a peacock cake before....hope it helps

idgalpal Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
idgalpal Posted 5 Jul 2011 , 10:48pm
post #3 of 13