Please Help! Filling Cupcake Liners With Batter

Baking By Osgirl Updated 22 Jun 2011 , 3:10am by Osgirl

Osgirl Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Osgirl Posted 20 Jun 2011 , 2:58am
post #1 of 9

I'm still pretty new to baking cupcakes, but all of a sudden people are wanting to order cupcakes from me. icon_smile.gif

I've been practicing a lot, and the one thing that is still difficult with some recipes is filling my cupcake liners with just the right amount of batter. I've noticed with some recipes I have to fill the liners less because they rise and spill onto the edges of the pan. Then some recipes I have to fill more so that they rise up enough.

For minis I've used a mini ice cream scoop, and for regular cupcakes I've used a regular ice cream scoop.

I want mine to have the perfect shape. I want them to rise slightly without spilling over the edge. I'm doing a wedding in September, and I want to have them looking just perfect.

Any helpful hints? THANK YOU!

8 replies
bakingkat Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bakingkat Posted 20 Jun 2011 , 4:07am
post #2 of 9

Just keep practicing, until you know exactly what each of your recipes take. Adjust amounts, temp, and time until everything comes out perfectly. Good Luck!

bananabread Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bananabread Posted 20 Jun 2011 , 4:35am
post #3 of 9

youcan use the scoops 10 and 12, 12 is o make smaller cupcakes and the 10 you can make bigger. Also depends on the size of of the pans. Scoop the batter and with the spatula level the batter, this way you will have the same size cupcakes

LindaF144a Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
LindaF144a Posted 20 Jun 2011 , 1:42pm
post #4 of 9

Take notes of which way each batter reacts while baking. I have found that not every recipe will take the same amount and react the same way. It will be different for each kind.

Cupcations Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Cupcations Posted 20 Jun 2011 , 3:54pm
post #5 of 9