How To Support Standing Fondant Figure

Decorating By ilovefondant777 Updated 16 Jun 2011 , 9:37pm by WykdGud

ilovefondant777 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ilovefondant777 Posted 6 Jun 2011 , 2:41am
post #1 of 9

Hey, I was wondering if anybody has tips or tutorial's on how to make fondant figures stand and be properly supported so they dont fall or sag under the weight of the figure. My last attempt at making one stand didn't go to well, I used kabob skewers, but that didnt support the weight.
please help! icon_smile.gif)

(im new to CC, & im already addicted) icon_biggrin.gif

8 replies
ycknits Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ycknits Posted 6 Jun 2011 , 2:56am
post #2 of 9

For larger figures, I put a lollipop stick through the figure and let it extend about three inches beyond the bottom of the figure. Then I push a bubble straw into the cake where I want the figure to be. Then I slide the lollipop stick that is embedded into the figure into the bubble straw. This way, the figutre sits on top of the straw and cake, but is supported by the three inches that is in the bubble straw. If I have a number of smaller figures to go on top of the cake, I generally make a flat gumpaste/fondant disk that is about two inches smaller in diameter than the top of the cake. I set the dried/hardened disk on top of the cake and then set the figures on top of the disk. The disk helps evenly distribute the weight of the figures and prevents them from sinking into the fondant on the cake. It also makes it easy to remove the figures from the cake without messing up the cake for serving.

cownsj Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cownsj Posted 6 Jun 2011 , 2:56am
post #3 of 9

I was going to suggest the skewers. Were they long enough to reach to the cake board below? And...... Did you make the figure well enough in advance for it to set up so the skewer didn't continue to push upwards through it?

ilovefondant777 Posted 7 Jun 2011 , 11:59am
post #4 of 9