Pricing Cake Bar

Decorating By sgirl87 Updated 7 May 2011 , 6:27am by cathyscakes

sgirl87 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sgirl87 Posted 7 May 2011 , 3:57am
post #1 of 5

I am making the cake for my friends wedding. However she also wants me to do a 'Cake Bar' where the refreshment table has several different types of cakes for guests to eat. I just don't know how much to charge for them, I've never done a cake bar before. I've done plenty of other cakes, just not this. Do I charge one rate per cake, or have different rates for each type of cake?

To get an idea, she was thinking of having a few of these cakes:

Coconut Cake
Poppy Seed
Chocolate Fudge
Cheesecake (with different fruit toppings)
Spongecake
Walnut Torte
Carrot Cake
oreo cake
orange dreamsicle cake
Banana Cake

Any help would be much appreciated!

4 replies
cakesdivine Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakesdivine Posted 7 May 2011 , 4:11am
post #2 of 5

How big is this wedding? I can't see doing a wedding cake AND a cake bar too especially with that many choices of cake. Even if you only offered an 8" 2 layer of each of those flavors that would yield 240 servings of cake! Add to that the wedding cake you are doing and MAN talk about alot of cake! If you do this then charge your normal per serving rate for the 240 servings on the cake bar and the amount of servings in the actual wedding cake.

auzzi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
auzzi Posted 7 May 2011 , 4:41am
post #3 of 5

A 'cake table' search won't get you far, but do a search for 'dessert table' - lots are actually "cake tables"

For example http://ruffledblog.com/diy-dessert-table-tips/

FromScratchSF Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
FromScratchSF Posted 7 May 2011 , 5:59am
post #4 of 5

icon_eek.gif