Competitor Advice

Decorating By Angela_Elise Updated 12 Apr 2011 , 10:05pm by jenmat

Angela_Elise Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Angela_Elise Posted 12 Apr 2011 , 1:35pm
post #1 of 6

Hello Everyone!! So glad I've found this place!!!!
I would just like a little advice or opinion from anyone who may have been or are in the same situation as I am.
I started making cakes by what I would call accident in 2008 with my wedding cake. I couldn't find anyone who would do a tye-dye cake for our tye-dye wedding - I wanted it very colorful, and like the traditional swirl tye dye. So I thought to myself, if I can airbrush something as small as a fingernail (I am a licensed nail tech but only do it as a hobby), I can airbrush a cake! Since then I have been getting requests from friends to make cakes. I didn't do it at first, and over the last year or so the requests just kept flooding in so I decided to give it a whirl.
Over the last few weeks I've prepared a separate kitchen off of my home, had a very very small start up cost, and actually have gotten a little busier than what I had even expected to. I just started advertising only 1 week ago, and already have 8 cake orders for April, and a couple of them are for churches so I will be feeding over 100 or more people (this is a lot for me to feed lol).
Anyhow, Today, I get a call from my mother saying to me "did you see the bakery opening??...dont spend any more money because you aren't going to make it now". I said back to her, "mom I know about it, and that doesn't mean I'm not going to make it, it's not set in stone that I'm doomed. "It really kind of hurt my feelings lol. But I also offer other things besides cakes, other sweet treats such as cinnamon rolls, cookies, and even pet safe sweet treats (can't forget our kitties and doggies)