A Few Questions From A Newbie

Decorating By awildrose1983 Updated 4 Apr 2011 , 2:36am by CWR41

awildrose1983 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
awildrose1983 Posted 4 Apr 2011 , 1:52am
post #1 of 2

So my first question is: How do you choose the sizes for your tiered cakes? I thought you go by 2's like a 10", 8" 6" but i am seeing lots that have 4" differences. Can someone please explain how I figure out which sizes I want to do when doing this?

Second question: Does anyone know where you can get a servings guide for cakes? I found one on wilton but it seems it's only wedding. I need to know how many will each size and shape feed and for a normal person serving not these paper thin servings.

Third question: I have 2" deep pans and I usually make 2 layers. Do you torte in between the 2 layers of should it be more? I saw some that have 3 skinny layers of cake then 2 of filling.

I know I am new to this but I am picking it up quickly and I am very excited about how fun this is. I am trying to do this for me but people are already hounding me to make their cakes. I can't say I hate it. It is so peaceful when I'm decorating. I turn on my music and my headphones and just go to town. I am still in the classes so I am not sure on allot of things yet. Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks

1 reply
CWR41 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CWR41 Posted 4 Apr 2011 , 2:36am
post #2 of 2