Marshmallow Fondant Help Needed

Baking By puddykat1026 Updated 19 Mar 2011 , 12:27am by puddykat1026

puddykat1026 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
puddykat1026 Posted 18 Mar 2011 , 10:52pm
post #1 of 5

Hi all! I am super new here (I signed up about 5 minutes ago icon_smile.gif ) & I've been doing cakes for a few months now. I was asked to do a cake for a birthday and I made marshmallow fondant. It's worked out great, doesn't stick, beautiful consistency and I made it about a week ago. So what's the problem? The minute I pick it up on the rolling pin it starts to tear. What am I doing wrong? I have been messing with this for the last 2 hours icon_cry.gif ! I am making a doll cake so the cake itself is a dome covered with chocolate ganache. Any help is appreciated. I need to finish this cake tonight for a party 1st thing in the morning. Thanks!

4 replies
Dayti Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Dayti Posted 18 Mar 2011 , 11:21pm
post #2 of 5

It might be too cold, or too dry? You can put it in the microwave for a FEW seconds to warm it before you start kneading it again. What are you rolling it out on? If you use cornstarch or powdered sugar, it will dry the fondant out a bit, especially if you have been re-kneading after each attempt. Ensure the fondant is nice and soft, add some more Crisco to it, and try again. Also, rolling the fondant thinner will help since there will be less overall weight on the rolling pin as you pick it up.

puddykat1026 Posted 18 Mar 2011 , 11:27pm
post #3 of 5