What's The Point?

Business By JustGettinStarted Updated 7 May 2011 , 12:27am by Annabakescakes

JustGettinStarted Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
JustGettinStarted Posted 13 Mar 2011 , 1:24am
post #1 of 54

Okay, so I'm a hobby baker, baking for friends and family. However, I've considered trying to get my license just to say I have it. But, what's the point (or benefit) of having one? I know plenty of people who aren't licensed and sell from their homes. Is that illegal? What difference does having the license make?

53 replies
icer101 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
icer101 Posted 13 Mar 2011 , 1:30am
post #2 of 54

Hi, if you will google that question and then add "on cake central" you will see many heated threads about this subject. hth

bobwonderbuns Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bobwonderbuns Posted 13 Mar 2011 , 1:34am
post #3 of 54

Yes, this can be a heated topic, unfortunately. But to answer your question in some states home baking and selling IS illegal, in some states in not. There's a thread around here someplace on the states that do and don't have cottage laws or home baking laws. I know in Texas if someone turns you in, the powers that be will go after you with tickets and fines. Other states are more lax. But it's always good to get your ducks in a row first and know why you are doing whatever you choose to do. Good luck!

platinumlady Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
platinumlady Posted 13 Mar 2011 , 1:46am
post #4 of 54