I Am A Beginner Fondant Cake Maker With 10 Questions??????

Baking By kneenah Updated 16 Feb 2011 , 11:31pm by kneenah

kneenah Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kneenah Posted 16 Feb 2011 , 10:35pm
post #1 of 7

I have been making cakes for about 2 months and I enjoy making it but i have a few questions that i would love for someone to answer I wanna makes sure i am doing things right........

1. How do i use the flower nail to bake my cake?

2. when cake is done and suran wrap do i place is in the frig?

3. when the mmf is made do i store it in the frig?

4. I normally make my cakes from box and ice the them with the over the counter frosting in container, is it ok to ice the cake with that frosting, I also fill it with that frosting?

5. Is frosting and Icing the same thing?

6. once the cake is covered in frosting/icing do i have to place it in the frig to get hard before i cover with fondant?

7.once i am done making things like shoes or make up do i place it in the frig to keep it preserved till i need it for the cake?

8. how long in advance can i start to make the decorations for a cake?

9. which is the best icing or easy home made fillings recommended for beginners?

10. Any books of dvds recommended for beginners?

6 replies
AmyBee89 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
AmyBee89 Posted 16 Feb 2011 , 10:43pm
post #2 of 7

I'm a beginner too, but I was just looking at this so I can answer
1. http://cakecentral.com/articles/651/cake-baking-flower-nail-method-tutorial

yummy_in_my_tummy Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
yummy_in_my_tummy Posted 16 Feb 2011 , 10:45pm
post #3 of 7

Hi kneenah,

I've only been doing cakes for a little over a year, but hopefully my suggestions can help you.....Everyone is different so the way I do things may not be how the next persons reply is but you can find what works best for you: