How Long Before Baking Can I Start Filling And Covering Cake

Lounge By Jillybean78 Updated 17 Feb 2011 , 2:43am by mmmcake0072

Jillybean78 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Jillybean78 Posted 16 Feb 2011 , 9:21pm
post #1 of 5

Hello all.

I have posted a few questions, I am new to CC and I have gotten back awesome feedback...Thanks.

However, I have been reading the cake disaster forum, just to make sure the cake I am making for my dad's 60th surprise party this Saturday does not suck! And maybe I should have not gone into that area of the forum because now I have scared the pants off myself.

I am planning on making a 3 tiered cake, possibly cutting it down to 2 tiers, covering it in fondant along with buttercream icing filling.

So here is my plan for timing:

Baking all the cakes Thursday afternoon/evening, then I work on Friday until about 3:00pm so from there I was going to fill the middle of the cakes with buttercream and do my crumb coating and then cover with the fondant. I have also read the people are having some issues with DH cake mix.....THAT IS WHAT I BOUGHT icon_eek.gif . I also am doctoring up the batches too. Is it one package of dry pudding mix for every package of cake mix?

Now, after the fondant is on the cakes do I have to let it set before I decorate it? I plan on using dowels and a middle wooden dowel also.

Oh I guess I should mention the sizes of cakes pans I'm using:
either 12", 10" and 8 or 10", 8" and 6" I have yet to decide.

I just really don't want any problems, so I could use some info on how others do their cakes ie: setting, resting etc. Oh jeez, I sound like a lunatic don't I??? I am a total perfectionist so I think this to death before actually starting it.

TIA

4 replies
Hillywu Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Hillywu Posted 16 Feb 2011 , 9:38pm
post #2 of 5