Marble Cake

Baking By mmmcake0072 Updated 14 Feb 2011 , 3:05pm by mmmcake0072

mmmcake0072 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mmmcake0072 Posted 2 Feb 2011 , 2:35pm
post #1 of 13

Hi! I was wondering if anyone out there has a good chocolate and vanilla marble cake? I have a customer request for 2 chocolate and van marble cakes for the same day. One is to be covered in fondant, just ar 14 inch bowling theme. And the other a large (16in) carved soccer jersey. She said she wants a really moist marble cake. I am a scratch baker and she has triedmy choc cake at another party and wants it not to be as dense. I have never made a marble cake and am STRESSED out over this whole order! 3 cakes for one day! PLEASE HELP!!!!!!

12 replies
annie84 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
annie84 Posted 2 Feb 2011 , 2:50pm
post #2 of 13

I'm making marble cake right now and using this recipe I found on CC: http://cakecentral.com/recipes/2165/a-better-white-scratch-cake
Once the batter is made I take out 3 cups and add it to 1 cup of melted chocolate chips. Fill your pans with the white batter, pour chocolate on top and swirl with a knife. It is super moist, very light and tastes fantastic.

Make sure not to over mix the batter and 5 whole eggs can be used in place of 10 egg whites. Some comments on the recipe say that it turns out spongy but I haven't had that problem. I think the spongyness comes from overmixing.

PattyT Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
PattyT Posted 2 Feb 2011 , 3:22pm
post #3 of 13

I recently used the marble cake recipe from Martha Stewart's Wedding Cake book. It was pretty good. It's posted on her web site too with all the instructions.

Crazboutcakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Crazboutcakes Posted 2 Feb 2011 , 3:35pm
post #4 of 13

I usually use my van recipe and take out a few cups of the van batter and set aside and than mix some coco powder in with the van and use it as the marble swirl. One recipe and everybodies happy.