Drawing A Contrast Between Cake Business Now And Past Years.

Decorating By foodguy Updated 14 Jan 2011 , 2:09pm by indydebi

foodguy Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
foodguy Posted 12 Jan 2011 , 7:14pm
post #1 of 5

We were in business in the late 60\\'s thru the 90\\'s.
Considered a higher end shoppe-we were called Master Decorators rather than Cake Designers.

When we first began my mentor told me to always be paid if full ahead of a wedding cake delivery. \\"After the cake is gone folks are no longer interested in paying for it\\

4 replies
neelycharmed Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
neelycharmed Posted 12 Jan 2011 , 7:14pm
post #2 of 5

I've been doing cakes for 6 years, and I find it is getting harder in a few ways...
complaining to get something for free is always around,
another is complaining that they can get a cake cheaper from someone else, and a lot of people now call last minute, which they never did before.. expecting to get a cake that day icon_confused.gif
But, not all cake orders are like that icon_smile.gif if it was, I wouldn't be doing cakes!
Jodi

cakelady2266 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakelady2266 Posted 14 Jan 2011 , 6:04am
post #3 of 5

I started out 21 years ago as a hobby baker. 17 years ago I quit a government job to raise kids and I baked from a caterer friends kitchen. I've had my on shop now for 13 years. Back 21 years ago the cakes were always buttercream with more piping work and lots of royal icing flowers. Fondant was something that was rarely ever used. Sheet cakes were pretty much the norm for showers, parties and adults birthdays, shaped and character cakes were most requested for kids birthdays. Today since the cake shows have become so popular on t.v. everybody wants a 3 to 5 tiered birthday cake that only serve 15 and expect to pay $25.