Nervous Quotes

Decorating By sebrina Updated 12 Jan 2011 , 5:57pm by jason_kraft

sebrina Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sebrina Posted 10 Jan 2011 , 4:06am
post #1 of 7

I am just starting out & it never fails, every time I get a request for a cake I suddenly get really nervous about my pricing! I live in a small town & only use word of mouth advertising. Most people have seen my work before they order. But I always end up, at the last minute, knocking my price down before I send it out. icon_cry.gif Is it just me???

6 replies
cakesbycathy Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakesbycathy Posted 10 Jan 2011 , 4:12am
post #2 of 7

No, but you need to grow a backbone or you will end up being taken advantage of and really resenting it.

Assuming you are a legal baker, either get a website that lists your prices and/or have a price sheet that you can hand to people.

If anyone tries to talk you down in price you can always tell them "I understand if I am not in your budget. I understand if you need to go to Walmart for your cake." Then smile politely and keep your mouth shut. thumbs_up.gif

tryingcake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tryingcake Posted 10 Jan 2011 , 6:18am
post #3 of 7

Get a pricing system and use it. I use a matrix. Whatever it tells me I should charge that's what I charge. Numbers don't lie.

indydebi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
indydebi Posted 10 Jan 2011 , 7:08am
post #4 of 7

totally agree with the above. make a price list. even if its just an internal one for your use.

I've always posted my pricing right on my website, but I saw the benefit of having it "in writing' when it came to number of servings.