Bakers Book

Decorating By justdessertsbyyesi Updated 29 Dec 2010 , 1:49am by justdessertsbyyesi

justdessertsbyyesi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
justdessertsbyyesi Posted 28 Dec 2010 , 2:43am
post #1 of 12

I am new to cake decorating. I have been baking cake from cake box recipes and I am ready to learn new recipes from scratch such as vanilla, chocolate or red velvet. I also want to learn different frosting recipes. Can someone recommend good books on how to learn these?

11 replies
ladyk333 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ladyk333 Posted 28 Dec 2010 , 2:58am
post #2 of 12

I would most certainly recommend "The Cake Bible" by Rose Levy Beranbaum. So many amazing recipes, tips, diagrams etc. It's old school baking done incredibly beautifully.

Enjoy!

joycesdaughter111 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
joycesdaughter111 Posted 28 Dec 2010 , 3:06am
post #3 of 12

Rose also has a new book, Rose's Heavenly Cakes.

silverdragon997 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
silverdragon997 Posted 28 Dec 2010 , 3:35am
post #4 of 12

I have The Cake Bible, and like it a lot. My current favorite book though is Bakewise by Shirley Corriher. I absolutely love the recipes in this book. They are SOOOO delicious. Plus, the book also explains what different ingredients do during baking, which I like.

Spudgirl48 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Spudgirl48 Posted 28 Dec 2010 , 3:48am
post #5 of 12

I recently bought "Rose's Heavenly Cakes." I have done only one recipe from it, a white cake. It was delicious!! I used to have "The Cake Bible." I can't find it, and I am really bummed. Both books are good. Now I what to try the Bakewise book someone mentioned.

jade8 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jade8 Posted 28 Dec 2010 , 4:21am
post #6 of 12

The Cake Bible. There are good recipes for both cakes and icings. The good thing about this book is she explains why these recipes work. I helped me understand alot about how and why recipes work the way they do.